How many weeks were you when you started your mat leave?

General chat about being pregnant, the different stages of pregnancy, morning sickness, the ups and downs of carrying your baby.

How many weeks were you when you started your mat leave?

Postby Expecting15 » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:09 am

Hi all,
Just wondering, generally how many weeks was everybody gone when they started their maternity leave?
Im a primary school teacher and due in july so supposed to work up until the end of the school year-26th of june. Ill be 38 weeks.
I drive approx and hour to school each day and an hour back. The doctor is concerned about the affect the driving is having on me, well the sitting. Sore back and ribs, piles and varicose veins bursting.
He is eager enough to sign me off, he has me off for this whole week and keeps saying that when i think im not able to let him know and he'll sign me off.
Anyway to make a long story short, i just found out that my school wont have a job for me next year so come the 31st of aug ( cos thats when ill
Get paid until) ill be jobless. (Panicing about that aside!)
Everyones telling me that i dont owe the school anything and to do whats best for the baby. Im only 29 +4 at the moment so i wouldnt be thinking about going straight away but maybe at 34 weeks. What do ye think?
So sorry for tge extra long post, my head all over the place at the moment!
Expecting15

Re: How many weeks were you when you started your mat leave?

Postby Shoelover » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:21 am

Hi expecting. I am due to go 2 weeks before my due date but to be honest I cannot see myself being able for that!! I am oh my feet quite a bit even though I have a chair I work in retail so it's quite demanding. I have myself down for a weeks holidays before the mat leave starts so I'm hoping to make it that far. I've been feeling fine so far but u have to do what's best for u and baby esp if u have a long commute. X
Shoelover

Postby Expecting15 » Wed Apr 29, 2015 10:23 am